Board of Directors

During the year the Board comprised the Chairman, three Non‑Executive directors (including the Senior Independent director) and two Executive directors (being the Chief Executive and Chief Financial Officer). As announced in April 2012, Nick Prest indicated that he wished to step down from the Board at the July 2012 AGM. Philip Aiken, who was appointed to the Board in May 2012, succeeded Nick Prest as Chairman following his appointment at the July 2012 AGM.

Philip Aiken


(appointed 1 may 2012)

Philip Aiken has 40 years’ experience in industry and commerce having been, from 1997 to 2006, President BHP Petroleum and then Group President energy of BHP Billiton. Prior to that he held senior positions with BTR plc (1995 to 1997) and BOC Group (1970 to 1995). Other roles have included Chairman of Robert Walters plc, Senior Adviser for Macquarie Capital Europe, Chairman of the 2004 World Energy Congress and serving on the Boards of the Governor of Guangdong International Council, World Energy Council and Monash Mt Eliza Business School. He is Senior Independent Director of Kazakhmys plc and Essar Energy plc and a Non‑Executive Director of National Grid plc and Newcrest Mining Limited.

Richard Longdon

Chief Executive

(appointed 16 august 1994)

Richard Longdon received engineering training in the defence industry then gained experience in the project management of high value engineering projects. he moved into sales and held a series of international sales and marketing positions. He joined AVEVA in 1984 and shortly afterwards was made Marketing Manager for the process products. In January 1992, he relocated to Frankfurt where he was responsible for setting up and running the Group’s German office. He returned to the UK as part of the management buyout team in 1994, taking responsibility for the Group’s worldwide sales and marketing activities, before being appointed Managing Director in may 1999. He took over as Group Chief Executive in December 1999.

James kidd

Chief Financial Officer

(appointed 1 January 2011)

James Kidd is a Chartered Accountant and joined AVEVA in 2004. Prior to his appointment to the Board, James held several senior finance roles within the Group and was Head of Finance from 2006. He joined the Group at the time of the Tribon acquisition and played a significant part in the completion of this transaction and the subsequent integration of the acquired business. His responsibilities have included investor relations, the development of the Group’s overseas subsidiaries, standardisation of financial processes and procedures as well as being heavily involved in the Group’s recent acquisitions. Prior to joining AVEVA James worked for both Arthur Andersen and Deloitte, serving technology clients in both transactional and audit engagements.

Jonathan Brooks

Non‑Executive Director

(appointed 12 July 2007)

Jonathan Brooks joined AVEVA in July 2007 and currently holds a number of directorships with technology based companies. He is Chairman of Xyratex Limited, a Nasdaq‑listed provider of enterprise class data storage sub‑systems and network technology, and is a Non‑Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of IP Group plc, which commercialises intellectual property from leading UK universities. Between 1995 and 2002, he was Chief Financial Officer and a Director of ARM Holdings plc where he was a key member of the team that developed ARM Holdings to be a leader in its sector.

Philip Dayer

Non‑Executive Director

(appointed 7 January 2008)

Philip Dayer qualified as a Chartered Accountant and pursued a corporate finance career in investment banking, specialising in advising UK listed companies. He was first appointed an Advisory Director in 1983 of Barclays Merchant Bank Limited and since then has held the position of Corporate Finance Director with a number of banks. He retired from Hoare Govett limited in 2004. Philip was a financial consultant to OJSC Rosneft Oil Company, the Russian state‑owned oil and gas company, on their flotation in 2006. Philip is a Non‑Executive Director of Kazmunaigas Exploration Production JSC, the Parkmead Group plc, Navigators Underwriting Agency Limited and Chairman of IP Plus plc.

Jennifer Allerton

Non‑Executive Director

(appointed July 2013)

Jennifer Allerton joined the AVEVA Board in July 2013 and has a broad range of technological, commercial and international experience. She is a Non-Executive Director of Oxford Instruments plc, a leading provider of high technology tools and systems. Most recently Jennifer was the Chief Information Officer for the Pharma Division of Roche, a research-focused healthcare company in Switzerland. Previously, she was Technology Director of Barclaycard and Chief Information Officer of BOC (now Linde). Jennifer is a graduate of Imperial College, London and has a Master of Science Degree in Physics from the University of Manitoba. She began her career with Unilever in 1976 where she held various positions until 1989. She has worked in the UK, Brazil, the US, Switzerland, Canada, Italy and Asia.


 AVEVA's history, achievements, and why the world's plant, power, oil & gas and marine industries rely on AVEVA's software solutions.